[oclug] Privacy violation & recipient delimieter "+"

Michael P. Soulier msoulier at storm.ca
Thu Aug 29 16:15:13 EDT 2002


    Personally, I would contact them, and write up a small article to both /.
and the local newspapers. Plus, any newspapers close to the physical location
of this company, and any privacy advocate groups that might apply. 

    Mike

On 29/08/02 JP did speaketh:

> Hi,
> 
> few month ago there was a thread about catching privacy violation by
> adding the recipient delimiter "+" in your e-mail (I went thru the
> archives and i did not found it.). After this thread, everytime i give my
> e-mail address on the internet i put "+domainname" in my e-mail address.
> 
> So here is my problem: I went on www.coolwheels.com few weeks ago and
> subscribe to the customer mailing list with the e-mail address
> jp+coolwheels at msfree.ca .
> 
> On the website they say : "coolwheels.com is totally committed to
> protecting your privacy. We use your personal information only to process
> orders and provide you with an enhanced and personalized shopping
> experience. We do not sell, trade, give, or rent your personal information
> to any third party." (http://www.coolwheels.com/newvisitor.cfm#privacy)
> 
> On august 21 i've receive an e-mail from gofastparts.com at the e-mail
> address jp+coolwheels at msfree.ca
> 
> 
> Here is the E-mail header:
> Return-Path: <email at gofastparts.com>
> Delivered-To: jp+coolwheels at msfree.ca
> Received: from tropicana.wesweb.com (unknown [209.164.63.209])
>      by mail.msfree.ca (Mail System) with ESMTP id A2E35469B
>      for <jp+coolwheels at msfree.ca>; Wed, 21 Aug 2002 12:46:27 -0400 (EDT)
> Received: from wesweb.com ([10.20.1.83]) by tropicana.wesweb.com with
> Microsoft SMTPSVC(5.5.1877.197.19);
>      Wed, 21 Aug 2002 09:38:01 -0700
> X-Sender: email at GoFastParts.com
> From: GoFastParts.com <email at GoFastParts.com>
> To: Jean-Pierre Denis <jp+coolwheels at msfree.ca>
> Date: Wed, 21 Aug 2002 09:38:35 -0700
> Subject: GoFastParts Specials for August
> Reply-To: remove at GoFastParts.com
> Organization: GoFastParts.com
> 
> I don't see anything related to coolwheels.com in there ...
> 
> So it look like coolwheels.com sold my personnal info. to
> GoFastParts.com even if they are saying that they would protect my
> privacy. I have never gave my e-mail address to GoFastParts.com.
> 
> If i remember correctly it happen to someone else on the list and he wrote
> to the company or he did something.
> 
> Should i contact them ? take legal action against them ?
> It would be great to have advice before i take any action.
> 
> Thanks everyone for your time and consideration
> 
> JP
> jp at msfree.ca
> 
> 
> 
> _______________________________________________
> oclug mailing list
> oclug at lists.oclug.on.ca
> http://www.oclug.on.ca/mailman/listinfo/oclug

-- 
Michael P. Soulier <msoulier at storm.ca>, GnuPG pub key: 5BC8BE08
"...the word HACK is used as a verb to indicate a massive amount
of nerd-like effort."  -Harley Hahn, A Student's Guide to Unix
HTML Email Considered Harmful: http://expita.com/nomime.html
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: not available
Type: application/pgp-signature
Size: 189 bytes
Desc: not available
Url : http://tux.oclug.on.ca/pipermail/oclug/attachments/20020829/9defe603/attachment.bin


More information about the OCLUG mailing list